Monday, October 29, 2007

White House names 2007 'Medal of Freedom' recipients

White House names 2007 'Medal of Freedom' recipients
The White House on Monday announced the recipients of the 2007 Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest US civilian honor, including a Cuban dissident, Liberia's president, and a beloved US author.
US President George W. Bush was to honor Cuban anti-abortion and pro-democracy activist Oscar Elias Biscet, Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, and "To Kill A Mockingbird" novelist Harper Lee at a ceremony on November 5, the White House said.
The other five winners include the 1992 Nobel economics prize winner Gary Becker; Human Genome Project leader Francis Collins; US civil rights leader Benjamin Hooks; former House Foreign Affairs committee chairman Henry Hyde; and groundbreaking television executive Brian Lamb.
The Presidential Medal of Freedom, established in 1963, is awarded for an honoree's "especially meritorious contribution" to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, or for their accomplishments in the areas of culture or "other significant public or private endeavors."
Congratulations, Brian! Brian Lamb is the sexiest man on TV, it says so right in my profile!

No comments: